Teej in 2017

Teej is the Hindu festival. In Hindi it is called तीज, in Nepali it is also called तीज and in Punjabi it is called by ਤੀਜ (Gurmukhi). This fabulous festival comes four times in one year. Each four times it is called by different name, which are Hartalika Teej, Hariyali Teej, Akha Teej and Kajari Teej. On some places it is also called by Baya, Tay and many more. On the day of Teej, married women got gifts Shringara from their parents. Shringar is a gift pack, which includes lipstick, Mehndi, Bindi, vermillion, bangles, Ghevar (sweet), and Lahariya (multi-colored Saree) etc.

Festivals Dates
Hariyali Teej 26th July, Wednesday
Kajari Teej 10th August, Thursday
Hartalika Teej 24th August, Thursday

This festival mostly celebrated by women. Women do worship on this day for their husbands' well-being, good health etc.

Now we look into all four types of teez.

  1. Akha Teej: It is also called by Akshay Tritiya. Festival of Akha Teej takes place on the third day of Shukla Paksha (bright fortnight or ujwal paksh) during the Hindu month calendar 'Vaisakha'.
  2. Hariyali Teej: Festival of Hariyali Teej is celebrated on the third day of Shukla Paksha in the Hindu month calendar of Shravana.
  3. Kajari Teej: Kajari Teej is enjoyed on the third day of Krishna Paksha (dark half or Andhera Paksh) in the Hindu month calendar of Bhadrapad.
  4. Haritalika Teej: Haritalika Teej falls during the third day of Shukla Paksha of the Hindu month calendar of Bhadrapada.